Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

2010 Chevrolet Silverado Slight Hesitation upon Acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2013, 01:31 PM
Beginner
Default 2010 Chevrolet Silverado Slight Hesitation upon Acceleration

Hello,

I have a 2010 Chevrolet Silverado LT Z-71 Crew Cab, 5.3L V8/6 speed, automatic transmission with 46K on the clock.

When I take off after a complete stop, there is a noticeable hesitation/bucking feeling before moving through all the gears. The active fuel management shows V8 during take-off, which is normal so I know it's not running on 4 cylinders. Further, there are no codes present within the ECU. All preventative maintenance was done, including a new air filter with oil/filter change.

This truck was purchased new and never experienced any issues up until 10K miles ago. From being a former automotive tech, I know for a fact this isn't normal behavior.

With that being said, I'm curious to see if anyone else has experienced, or currently experiencing this issue and if so, what was found to correct the problem.

Thank you,
IronBear

Old 10-07-2013, 01:44 PM
TMW

Try putting it in 1st gear just to make sure it is downshifting when you stop.

Old 10-07-2013, 02:35 PM
Beginner

The transmission is downshifting. In fact, when I shift the truck manually (in manual mode) to shift at a higher RPM, the hesitation seems to be eliminated.

Old 10-07-2013, 02:41 PM
Administrator

I'm wondering if you picked up some bad fuel or possible the fuel filter is beginning to plug.
What I'm saying, it sounds like it might be starving for fuel causing the miss fire or lack of power.

Old 10-07-2013, 08:19 PM
TruckForum Addict