Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

5.3l LS1 Engine Swap

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2010, 09:22 AM
Beginner
Default 5.3l LS1 Engine Swap

Well I had a bad rod bearing in my 5.3l LS1 motor in my 1999 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 so I am going to swap it for the same engine (130,000 miles) that I picked up for $250. I know how to crank a wrench but I am not too technical. I will be explaining the process as I go. If there is someone that knows of a youtube video or another user that has already done this PLEASE post the links.

Last night I got started on the truck, verified the knocking was still indeed there after a fresh oil change. I took the front tires off, set the truck on jack stands high in the air, removed the hood, battery, altenator, serpentine belt, and 2 plates (1 plastic, 1 steel) from the underside of the engine compartment for easy access to the bottom of the motor later.

I unhooked the throttle cables, air intake, drained the oil and started working on removing the main wiring harness (driver side of engine) connections from the top of the motor. I basically unpluigged everything that is connected to the motor from this main harness and labeled some of the stuff to save time later.

Tonight I plan on draining the radiator and removing all the hoses and remaining wireing from the engine block as well as the fan and disconnecting the exhaust. My hope is to start unbolting the motor from the transmission so all I have to do is unbolt the motor mounts and pull the engine.

Here is the question of the day: I see you can buy GM part #12561721 cam which is the same cam they use in the CRATE HO engine. Will there be a noticeable difference if I just replace the cam and is it worth it for the $70? If I decide to do this is there anything else I need to worry about besides simply swapping the cams (I heard the timing will be fine with a basic swap).

Last edited by korygrandy; 07-27-2010 at 10:14 AM.