Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

'95 GMC Sierra K1500 "Mad Maxine" project

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2013, 09:17 AM
Beginner
Default '95 GMC Sierra K1500 "Mad Maxine" project

I was encouraged to start up a topic to cover the entirety of my project(s) in order to be more available for suggestions and public help. This topic covers my adventure rebuilding and teching out my 1995 GMC Sierra K1500 5.7L V8 4WD. I don't have pictures yet, but will try to get some soon.

Backstory
First, some background on myself. I recently graduated college with a degree in electrical engineering and I work as a contractor doing programming work. I sort of have an unusual, geeky redneck-apocalyptic style for my projects, which is largely being channeled in my truck build. My electrical experience is handy for much of the work I am doing, but the mechanical experience I am picking up on the go.

I purchased this truck about a year ago from Craigslist. It was $900 and was in desperate need of repair. Tires were worn, some of the steering was shot, and the engine wouldn't run under power and it barely idoled. That day, it limped home to my garage. After a few weeks and some research, I finally discovered that the fuel pump was failing. This was replaced along with the sending unit, a few fuel lines replaced, and it ran like it had a purpose!

I like to name the things I care about. Like the pilots and their planes of WWII, this thing was going to take care of me so long as I took care of it. It must have a name! Originally, I referred to it with the name of an ex. Mandy. Why? It came with a lot of problems. As I began to rebuild it and lay out a plan of action, I settled on "Mad Maxine." This should give you a great image of what this truck should do if you've seen Road Warrior. If you haven't, I encourage it!

Pictures
Name:  q7Yysuvl.jpg
Views: 45
Size:  100.3 KB
Name:  1AWiRUsl.jpg
Views: 43
Size:  83.8 KB
Name:  sq7H0WPl.jpg