Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

Don't Buy From TBI Guy

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2013, 01:02 AM
Default Don't Buy From TBI Guy

So, I think I am a reasonable guy and try to do good business with everyone I meet. I have an '88 Shortbox Stepside Silverado 4x4 350 that I have been playing with for a few years...it just turned 70,000 original miles.

Still, I've been into Small Black Chevys all of my life, from the old points & condenser and carbs days to electronic ignition and TBI. I wanted to keep it fairly stock and reliable; I'm not trying to turn a 12 second quarter, I just want to pull a trailer through the mountain passes. Anyway, power is progressive; I could throw a 400 hp SBC but then would tear up the axles, etc. I decided to do everything I could without pulling the heads or cam...which leaves Intake/TBI, Ignition/Chip, and Headers/Exhaust.

So I found a TBI site (below) and followed their advice for ignition, headers, and exhaust. I wrote a nice letter saying good stuff about his site, yadda yadda. However, instead of buying one of his rebuilt TBIs...which is what he sells, custom TBIs...I opted for the Holley Projection. I figured "One guy, small shop vs. an Engineering Dept, Testing Facilities, and nationwide customer service." It was instant bolt-on horsepower. Anyway, you fill out a form describing your engine, vehicle, mods, and I mentioned the Holley.