Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

Mods To Increase Gas Mileage

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2008, 01:59 PM
Beginner
Default Mods To Increase Gas Mileage

I have a stock 2006 Chevy Silverado Crew Cab with about 18,500 miles on it. I am a careful driver. Don't accelerate hard and try to drive very economically.

My average mileage (I keep extraordinary records) over the 18,500 miles is 17.65. Highest I ever got on a trip was 21.15. Lowest I ever got on a tank (mostly in town driving) was 13.6.

I have a Laredo vinyl bed cover. All tires are stock and I usually keep them at 35psi or so.

I've heard people talk about increasing gas mileage with either the K&N paper filter replacement elements OR the K&N cold air intake.

I have no need of more torque or horsepower. I don't pull a trailer and use the truck to carry things hOme from Lowes or Home Depot.

I pretty much do everything recommended to optimize my gas mileage.

Would any of the K&N products or any other cost effective mods make a significant increase in my gas mileage?

thanks for any feedback you can offer.

Mike in Alabama

Old 04-14-2008, 03:19 PM
Default RE: Mods To Increase Gas Mileage

This worked for me, but I like to "tinker" with stuff so its up to you.

Get a K&N air filter for starters. Yes they work. Then get a cooler temperature thermostat, say 180 degree. (Therostat is optional but they work well) Now you can either get a tune or a programmer and they work well too.

This is what I did:

Got a Predator programmer and with help form Diablosport I managed to dial in a few parameters to help the truck run efficienty.
1. Adjusted Long Term Fuel Trims and Spark Advance
2. Adjusted transmission shift points and pressures
3. Removed 60% of the torque management
4. I also played with WOT parameters but that was for play not fuel effeciency.