Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

A series of transmission questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2011, 09:28 PM
Default A series of transmission questions

Hey guys. I'm brand new to Chev forums, but I've been messing with cars and trucks all my life. Recently, my company truck of 177K miles (it's a 5.3 2wd 2007 Silverado) started pouring transmission fluid out of the bellhousing. I'll try to be as brief as possible with this...

First, how do I identify the transmission? I assume it is a 4l60, but I need to confirm.

Second, I've never more than cracked the pan on a GM transmission although I've rebuilt Ford's C4s, C6s and T5s, and Toploaders. I realize there are special tools involved in rebuilding this transmission, but is this a relatively easy transmission to build?

Third, this happened while I was getting the truck out of a snow drift during our recent 17" of snow. I had it revved up in reverse when I noticed the smell and saw the fluid pouring out of the bellhousing. My guess is that the front pump is shot, but I'm curious if anyone could help me confirm this or suggest something else I screwed up.

It seems like a lot of work for a company truck, but trust me...it's worth it. Since it's past its prime, they want to replace it rather than have the transmission rebuilt. Sounds great, I know, but the boss wants to replace it with a Toyo-turd Sienna than another Silverado and since I'm not ready to quit and find another job, I've decided to fix this thing myself under the radar and bill him for parts.

Thanks in advance.

Old 02-16-2011, 09:56 PM
General Truck/Classifieds Forum Moderator