Truck Forums

Truck Forums (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/)
-   Chevy/GMC Small Trucks Forum (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/chevy-gmc-small-trucks-forum-13/)
-   -   98 sonoma rear main seal leak (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/chevy-gmc-small-trucks-forum-13/98-sonoma-rear-main-seal-leak-13328/)

Kev55 03-30-2010 01:03 AM

98 sonoma rear main seal leak

so i bought my 98 Sonoma around 2 weeks ago and it didn't have much of a leak at the time. Maybe a drop or two but it didn't bother me because it has 126k on the motor so some leaking was expected but now its like oil is leaking out like crazy after i drive. In the matter of maybe an hour of having the car parked it would leave a ft long puddle. I'm thinking its the rear main seal because its dropping down from between the tranny and motor. my question is, how big of a project would it be to replace this?
I have some experience in engine work like changing my timing belt and water pump, etc. But I've never done something where i had to pull the motor off the tranny and maybe out of the car. I live near a couple old car enthusiast that would have no problem helping me if i got stuck. My main concern though is that this is my daily driver and if it takes me more than a weekend i have no ride to work, school, etc.
Any help is appreciated :)

Mr_Shamrock 03-30-2010 07:04 AM