Truck Forums

Truck Forums (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/)
-   Chevy/GMC Small Trucks Forum (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/chevy-gmc-small-trucks-forum-13/)
-   -   Need help w/ 97 s-10 cutting out at constant speed. (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/chevy-gmc-small-trucks-forum-13/need-help-w-97-s-10-cutting-out-constant-speed-2419/)

taewa 01-19-2007 09:21 PM

Need help w/ 97 s-10 cutting out at constant speed.

I have a 1997 Chevrolet s-10 (s10) 2wd ext. cab w/ the 4.3L V6 vortec engine and manual transmission. The truck starts easily, but it cuts out when driving at constant speeds. It seems fine during acceleration and at idle, other than some clanking sounds at idle (not sure if this has anything to do with the problem or not), but as soon as I try to maintain a constant speed, it starts to hiccup every couple seconds. I am not experienced in auto repair, but research points me towards fuel pump and/or filter. Is there a way to diagnose this without fancy tools? A fuel pump is a lot more to replace than just the filter, so is there a way to differentiate which might be bad, if either? Other ideas???

Thanks so much.

Streakn 09-08-2007 01:15 PM

RE: Need help w/ 97 s-10 cutting out at constant speed.

Fuel filter is the easiest and cheapest place to start, try it first if you don't kow anyone who can check your fuel pressure.

blacksilverado 10-04-2007 04:42 AM

If you say that you truck is fine under acceleration then it wont be your fuel pump because that is when it's taxed the most. It's hard to say what it really is without knowing the background or history of the truck maintanance wise. Does the truck stall or just sort of stutter a bit, and when was the last time you did a tune up on it?

Ryan

vtech1 10-21-2007 02:20 AM