Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

straight pipes

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2011, 02:56 PM
Default straight pipes

im sure this has been asked before, but I live in georgia and have to pass emissions. if I straight pipe my 93 c1500 (350) or put glasspacks on it will it affect emissions at all? i have a flowmaster 10 series on there now and want it louder. I do have a cat of course. I just wanted to get some sound advice before i spend the money cause i know reducing back pressure might affect the egr system.
thanks

Old 09-13-2011, 04:06 PM
Chevrolet/GMC, Racing, Recreational Forum Moderator

You should be fine as long as the cat is doing its job, but please think twice about doing this.
#1 You aren't going to make the truck any faster, in fact the truck will feel slower because your torque will diminish with the loss of backpressure.
#2 Maybe it's me, but I can't stand to see a loud *** truck that isn't going any where. My neighbor used to run his Tahoe like that and I could hear him coming as soon as he started his truck (about 6 houses down) and it sounded like it was hauling *** and he was just barely moving down the street.
To each their own, but why spend money to hurt your performance?!?!?!?!?!?!

Old 09-14-2011, 04:32 AM
Toyota, Nissan, and Other Truck Forum Moderator

Originally Posted by Mr_Shamrock
You should be fine as long as the cat is doing its job, but please think twice about doing this.
#1 You aren't going to make the truck any faster, in fact the truck will feel slower because your torque will diminish with the loss of backpressure.
#2 Maybe it's me, but I can't stand to see a loud *** truck that isn't going any where. My neighbor used to run his Tahoe like that and I could hear him coming as soon as he started his truck (about 6 houses down) and it sounded like it was hauling *** and he was just barely moving down the street.