Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

Newbie here, need help deciding on first Silverado

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2010, 03:02 PM
Beginner
Default Newbie here, need help deciding on first Silverado

Hello everyone. Newbie here, doing some research on getting myself a Silverado in a few months.
So I will just go ahead and apologize for all the silly questions I am going to end up having.
Yes, I will try to use the search function the best I can

First, what I am looking for...
I have about a $12K budget, and want a very nicely equipped (decked out actually) 1500 or 2500, 5.3L V8, 4 door (suicide rear doors), with under 100K miles on it.
That seems to be reasonably possible with a 2000 to 2002 truck at least.
I have found a few nice decked out Z71s with about 90K miles on them for about that price.
The truck will be used for some towing, but nothing crazy. The most it will ever do is tow a Jeep TJ on a trailer.
I know that is a bit beyond what a 5.3L 1500 should be used for, but it will not have to do that very often at all.
Its main towing and hauling will be an ATV in the bed, or a couple ATVs on a small trailer.

One of the main things I need to decide of what body style I really want to start looking at.
I dont mind the newer style 2003 bodies really, I just much prefer the 2000 to 2002 body styles.
But, I want to make sure I know what all they changed on these trucks from those years.
Do they ride or handle different? Does one have better MPG than the other?
So that I will know if there are some good changes or features that will make me go with the newer 2003+ body style.

I would also love to compile a list of things to look out for, what goes bad on them first, or the most often.
Any rear ends I should look out for, locking diff, limited slip, etc.
Generally any advice you have would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
~John

Old 06-18-2010, 08:15 PM
Toyota, Nissan, and Other Truck Forum Moderator