Truck Forums

Truck Forums (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/)
-   Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/chevy-silverado-gmc-sierra-forum-11/)
-   -   QUESTION ON SHOCKS (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/chevy-silverado-gmc-sierra-forum-11/question-shocks-6044/)

theduck007 01-31-2008 05:36 PM

QUESTION ON SHOCKS

hey guys, i have a 04' 1500 and it seems to me that the front end is sittinga little low. but as i look at other trucks it looks the same. but i what i was wondering if i put new shocks in it if it would change the way it sits. im kinda new to this stuff. or if anyone has any suggestions on how to lift it just a little in the front. let me know. i don't wanna put a lift kit in it cuz i plan on pulling a camper throughout the summer. let me know what you guys think.
thanks

jpgoodnu 01-31-2008 06:35 PM

RE: QUESTION ON SHOCKS

NO shocks don't effect ride height,they don't support weight(springs/torsion bars support the weight),the shockspurpose is ONLY to dampen the movement of the suspension/control the bounce. That being said I HAVE seen a very slight difference in ride height on some CARS over the years when replacing completely wiped shocks with agressively damped(STIFF) shocks such as KYB Gas-Adjust. I haven't checked the front suspension on a 2004,but my 2002 had Torsion bars instead of leaf or coil springs,the Torsion bars are adjustable,BUT when you crank up the ride height you get a corresponding increase in Stiffness and harshness of the ride, so be careful what you have the suspension shop adjust it to. YOU WILL HAVE TO HAVE IT ALIGNED ONCE YOU TOUCH THE TORSION BAR ADJUSTMENT,SO HAVE IT ALL DONE THERE. If yours is like most I've seen, the 1500 Silverados have a factory slight "Nose down" stance(right off the showroom floor), I had mine cranked up just enough to sit Flat at rest on flat ground,it did loose alittle ride comfort,but not much at all.

theduck007 01-31-2008 06:39 PM