Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

vent selector not working,

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2009, 08:26 PM
Question vent selector not working,

Okay I am a newbie obliviously! I browsed through the first 3 pages, and found the answer sort of.
My AC blower was funky. It would only blow on 2,3,4, 1and 5 were dead! So i went to the Junk yard and got a new hvac control panel, did the same thing, so I returned it. Read up, and found out it's a relay, snatched one up for $22bucks at work. Dropped it in, and the fan works on all 5 speeds,so thanks!
BUT the vent selector does not work it seems to blow on defrost only! So what would cause this?

I have had this truck 1 month and this is the fist problem.

Oh to list the things I have done,
1)JET programed
2) Sylvania Silver Stars ultra hi and low beams
3)blower motor resistor
4)MagnaFlow (sitting on the couch)
5)MagnaFlow tip (also on the couch)

Old 07-23-2009, 11:11 PM
Toyota, Nissan, and Other Truck Forum Moderator

Feel behind the glove compartment or under it. There is sometimes a vacum hose that will come loose and allow the vent or defroster to switch. If not then look around the intake for a loose vacum hose.

Old 07-24-2009, 05:32 AM

ok, under the hood is there a specific side as where to look for a loose vacuum line?

Old 07-24-2009, 07:30 AM
Chevrolet/GMC, Racing, Recreational Forum Moderator