Truck Forums

Truck Forums (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/)
-   General Truck Tech (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/general-truck-tech-42/)
-   -   Help me I need advice with my truck!! (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/general-truck-tech-42/help-me-i-need-advice-my-truck-15987/)

tom57585 03-03-2011 12:25 AM

Help me I need advice with my truck!!

Hey folks, I was just curious if any of you all could help me out with some advice on my situation - this would be a great question for those of you who use your trucks for work.

I'm a 23 year old guy who is in the construction industry; I do my own jobs on occasion as an independent "contractor", used to do this sort of full-time, but now I work as a foreman for a demolitions company. I live in new jersey, and the price of gas is horrendous; I often have to drive to jobsites that are far away and I am in desperate need of a new vehicle and dont know what to do.

My first idea was to just suck it all up and buy one truck that would last a long-time. It seems to be more practical than a car, say like, a used dodge ram 1500...but the prices on used cars right now are robbing people blind! and the mileage and cost in a modern full size truck doesn't pan out for me; i don't really have my own business or anything. In my area, for ex. a used ram 1500 with 70,000 miles (circa 05-07) goes for almost 15,000 thats with no 4-doors, just a base work truck. gas mileage is terrible; albeit the hemi's im sure to last a long time.

So with doing all the math I've realized that its cheaper for me to just a buy a used sedan (say like, a 4-banger nissan altima with 50,000 miles) and then have a truck on the side (and by all means, I want a truck. I want the 4-wheel drive, and I could make a good chunk of cash doing my own side-jobs, especially if I were to be laid off - which is always in the nature of the business).