Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

95 silverado 6.5l swapping out to a 99 vortec L31 need some help

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2011, 07:56 PM
Default 95 silverado 6.5l swapping out to a 99 vortec L31 need some help

i have 95 silverado which had a 6.5l till it spun the main bearing i pulled and have decided to convert to gas i have a 99 3500 cargo van that has a L31 vortec 5700 that has like 20 k on the it. the trans died on it which is also the same trans 4l80e that i have in my truck .what needs to be done to do this conversion? if your experienced please reply. i was told that the pcm from the 99 would not work with my trans and that i would hafto switch the torque convert out and also change out the gas pedal from dwm to regular gas pedal.furthermore get a stand alone for the trans help! anyone?

Old 09-24-2011, 08:48 PM
TruckForum Addict

Well, I have no experience with this, but I'd expect that unless you put a carburetor on it, you'll need the PCM, transmission and torque converter setup out of the van. I don't know about the pedals, but you'll need a pedal and throttle cable setup.

Personally, I'd just have the 6.5L fixed and sell the 5.7. It would probably be easier.

Old 09-25-2011, 10:36 PM

Also check the oil pan on the van engine. I seem to remember something about the sumps being reversed.

IMO, I think Null's got the right idea. Sell the van engine and put that money toward repairing the diesel, You probably come out ahead in the long run.

Old 09-27-2011, 08:36 AM

I'm gonna stand with both these guys. Keep the diesel, it's not that much to rebuild and the advantages you have in torque and longevity justify it. Nothing against the van motor idea though, hell I'd keep it for another project since it's a low mileage 4bolt main.

Old 09-27-2011, 08:50 AM
Chevrolet/GMC, Racing, Recreational Forum Moderator