Truck Forums

Truck Forums (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/)
-   Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/chevy-silverado-gmc-sierra-forum-11/)
-   -   blown brake lines (https://www.truckforums.com/forum/chevy-silverado-gmc-sierra-forum-11/blown-brake-lines-17683/)

jiminpa 10-08-2011 07:27 PM

blown brake lines

jusy blew my metal brake lines.looks like two places,between the master cylinder and the propurtuning cylinder ,and the rear back by the gas tank.any tips on making this easier?(other than taking it to a dealer!)

MrDragon 10-08-2011 07:34 PM

You can rent a bender and flare tool to make the new lines and use compression fittings to tie into your existing lines. It isn't that difficult a job and relatively cheap too.

jiminpa 10-08-2011 08:08 PM

compression of flare? i'm a plumber so i got a flare tool,i think they would hold up better than compression.
i was looking at the existing line,don't know if there is any good metal to bite into! good old pa winters with the salt trucks,shure take their toll on vehicles!

MrDragon 10-08-2011 08:20 PM

I was thinking compression to tie in but if you want to buy more fittings and flare those ends too it'll work. Even buying the new brake lines isn't very expensive and easy to run but I doubt you get the old mounting clips loose so buy or make new ones.

jiminpa 10-08-2011 09:03 PM

thank you. youll know where i'll be tomorrow morning!

NullHead 10-08-2011 09:14 PM

I would avoid using compression fittings on your brake lines. Just get a spool of line and redo the whole thing. Brakes are a safety item, and I wouldn't trust that fitting with your life or other's. It just isn't worth it. My vote is to run a whole new line, and do it right.