Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

Help! 93 Chevy started surging this morn!

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2009, 01:39 PM
Default Help! 93 Chevy started surging this morn!

Hey guys! Got a prob I'm hoping someone can help me with.
First off, I am NO mechanic! So please bear with me.
Here is the situation...
I have a 93 chevy Silverado (of course). Has the 350 engine (can't remember what liter it is off hand). This morning I went out and started it with no prob and let it warm up. Drove about 20miles to the service station. When I got out I noticed that the exhaust fumes smelt a little rich. When I got to work about 35 more mile I noticed the idle was really low. Just over 1000rpm. When I went out to go to lunch I started it up and it went to about 1500rpm and started surging down to almost stalling and back up to normal idle. So, I chanced it and went to the sub shop about 1mile away. After I started driving I couldn't tell anything was wrong at all. Made it to the sub shop, when I got back it took a couple cranks to get it to started (kept dying). Made it back to work, but keeps surging while idling. That's were I am now...
Can anybody give me an idea what to do? I have family that can work on it, but I would like to be able to give them something to go on.
I have only had the truck for about 4mnths but this is the first time I've had any problems at all. It's only got 101,000 on it and the original owner I bought it from was family and kept it meticuously serviced and documented.
Any ideas?

Old 01-18-2009, 09:04 PM
Default RE: Help! 93 Chevy started surging this morn!

Well....that was wierd.