Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

hypertech

  #1  
Old 10-28-2007, 03:34 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 123
Default hypertech

Hey everybody I was looking to get a hypertech programmer for my 4.8 but not sure if it will do anything for my truck with an airaid cai.throttle body spacer.granatelli mass air flow sensor and a flowmaster dual exhaust I heard that hypertech only works with stock vehicles
 
  #2  
Old 10-28-2007, 04:55 PM
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 287
Default RE: hypertech

Not sure about hypertech, if you can't afford the top of the line I'd go for the super chips, it was $15.00 more than the hypertech, at least it was in 05. I used my programmer first and noticed a nice gain and of course being able to roar past 100mph De programmed and installed my air raid CAI alone that was pretty damn nice. Together it put one hellva smile on my face, still does too. In short yes you will notice a difference with a programmer, not sure about the techs though.
 
  #3  
Old 10-28-2007, 05:14 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 123
Default RE: hypertech

I think I might go with the diablo programmer.Is there much of a difference between the superchips and the diablo?
 
  #4  
Old 10-28-2007, 05:14 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 123
Default RE: hypertech

I think I might go with the diablo programmer.Is there much of a difference between the superchips and the diablo?
 
  #5  
Old 10-28-2007, 05:27 PM
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 287
Default RE: hypertech

From what I remember Diablo is at the top and is over 100 more, at least in '05. There are some links here to Nelson and another place, they do custom tunes per vehicle. I'd check those out, I think I will too come tax returns.
 
  #6  
Old 10-29-2007, 08:57 AM
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location:
Posts: 123
Default RE: hypertech

I had the hyperterch on my truck and then got the granatelli. Its a little more but definately worth it. It is a lot more specific when you program your truck.
 
  #7  
Old 10-29-2007, 09:08 AM
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 621
Default RE: hypertech

If I had to do it again, I would NOT buy the Hypertech. Diablo is more flexible to aftermarket parts. I see custom tunes as the icing on the cake;you have to build the cake first.
 
  #8  
Old 10-29-2007, 11:15 AM
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 2
Default RE: hypertech

i have an 01 xtra cab with a 4.8. i went to the dragstrip with a k&n and one flowmaster on it. my best time was an 11.01 (1/8th track) after installing the hypertech my best time was a 10.28 plus went 10.35 twice. thats setup with 87 octane also.
 
  #9  
Old 10-29-2007, 11:46 AM
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 321
Default RE: hypertech

No one is saying that the Hypertech programmer doesn't work ....it does ....but there are much better products out there...if you have the $$$.
 
  #10  
Old 10-29-2007, 01:44 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 123
Default RE: hypertech

The diablo it is then than thanx everybody
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: hypertech


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.