Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

Leaking Transmission. ??

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2011, 06:00 PM
Default Leaking Transmission. ??

Hi guys, I'm new to this, but I have a question. I have 1998 Chevy Silverado and I think the transmission is leaking... or something is. When I moved the truck, it sounded like the drive shaft was grinding and was about to fall out. So I parked it and looked underneath, the transmission was oily/greasy looking. I contacted my ex boyfriend who drove it last, and he said that he drove it about 15 miles knowing that a bolt was missing from the drive shaft. Also, it will not engage in park, or 1st and 2nd gears. I was told that I need to get a new "Linkage cable". The transmission was replaced, and I am wondering if it was put in wrong... if that is possible. I am trying to get info on it so I can tell the mechanic what is going on with when I have it towed to the shop. Thanks

Old 04-02-2011, 07:40 PM
Administrator

Welcome to the forum... You may NOT need any linkages.. If it's not reaching PARK...Because it is a 1998, you may have to repair your cab mounts. (maybe wearing out and sinking)
When your cab starts to sick backwards it will cause your shifter linkage to go out of wack.

Questions:
Was the tranni replaced recently?
Approx how many miles on this tranni.
Have you check your transmission fluid. (truck idling, Truck in PARK) check dip stick.

Old 04-03-2011, 04:09 PM