Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

map gas -vs Oxycetalene to remove Drums

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2011, 07:13 PM
Default map gas -vs Oxycetalene to remove Drums

It happens to us all. A drum brake absolutely refuses to move. You bang the heck out of it with a sledge hammer on the front and on the sides, and it still refuses to come off. I have been a mechanic off and on for a long time and never see a drum that is so stubborn "I did not have bolts to insert into the holes this time" that comes off.

A good friend with 30 years of experience said to use oxyacetylene to heat up the edge of the drum that makes contact with the wheel bearing hub. Well, I do not have a oxyacetylene kit, nor do I have the 500$ to buy one of those little kits.

I do have map gas but, is it hot enough to expand the drum at its inner diameter edge so it can slide off?

Lastly, HAD a huge bear of a time trying to use a slide hammer to pull out the wheel bearing of the spindle. I had to pull off the spindle and put it in a press. I did read that welding on another weight on the slide hammer would get it off.

What did you people use to pull off the corroded hub to spindle assembly ? Is there a hydraulic puller on the market to remove it? I am a mobile mechanic and do not carry around a hydraulic press.

Thanks

Old 09-19-2011, 01:29 AM
TruckForum Addict

Well, me being a greenhorn mechanic myself, the drums I've encountered have been able to be removed with a large sledge hammer and pulling on it. If you ask me, I'd say give map gas a try. That stuff does a pretty darn good job with heating things up. You might need to get two torches and have a helper heat both sides of the drum at once to try to get the whole thing heated up.

I've never used a slide hammer on a drum before, but like I said, I'm a new mechanic.

Old 09-19-2011, 11:17 AM

Originally Posted by NullHead