Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

question about 9" pro comp lift (new member)

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2010, 08:55 AM
Default question about 9" pro comp lift (new member)

hi guys,

I am 23 and new to this forum, and have always owned muscle cars, never had a truck. I just bought my 98 GMC sierra 2 weeks ago and have a few questions. It has 152,000 km, has a 9 inch pro comp suspesnion lift. The ride is pretty bouncy and the suspension feels pretty soft. Is this normal? I am used to stiff suspension( sorry if its a stupid question) I akso just put some magnaflow mufflers in, and the muffler guy said my truck isnt running right. It seems fine to me, it hesitates very very slightly around 20km/h ( too me it seems like its just the knobby tires) after that its totally normal. The engine light is on so i will have to get that checked. your guys input would be greatly appreciated. sorry im a noob

Attached Thumbnails question about 9" pro comp lift (new member)-3k83m63pc5oe5pb5r9a16e13e45ad7d0d1cad.jpg  
Old 01-19-2010, 03:50 PM
Toyota, Nissan, and Other Truck Forum Moderator

Yeah get that checked friend and list the codes on here. The suspension sounds normal.

Old 01-20-2010, 04:07 AM

Sweet thanks man, I will get the code checked ASAP. Are these trucks generally easy and cheap to fix?

Old 01-20-2010, 05:01 PM

Oh yeah. Some people usually find solutions on forums like these. So posting them right away helps others who are reading cut there troubleshooting time down.

Old 01-21-2010, 04:07 AM

Cool thanks a lot man, I will post as soon as I can. Also the truck kinda has a little bit of gas smell, I think it is because I took my cats out. My mustang had a similar smell. I hope that's what it is anyway.

Old 01-21-2010, 05:06 PM

Hmmm from that smell and the mechanic saying it isn't running right, sounds like its running rich. Could be a faulty O2 sensor, bad coolant sensor, or something else.