Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

Royal Purple

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2008, 08:15 PM
Default Royal Purple

Hey guys i was wondering if using just Royal Purple 5w30 engine oil will do anything such as mpg or hp and not changing out all the fluids (2006's can only use factory gm dexron VI)?

right now im using penziol platinum 5w30 and havet really noticed any difference. its only about $1-$2 differnce per quart here

thanks

Old 01-31-2008, 10:07 AM
Default RE: Royal Purple

I have heard that royal purple will free up a few ponies but i have no real experience with it other than what i saw on HP tv. I will be switching soon and test it.

Old 02-01-2008, 03:19 PM

I use Royal Purple in my truck and I like it. If you're just using the oil it is very unlikely that you will feel any difference in HP. I did notice the truck seemed to idle smoother and was smoother all around. There are studies out there, maybe on the Royal Purple web site, that say RP will last a lot longer than conventional oil making the price difference worth it. I plan on changing all the fluid to RP, because I think the transmition fluid can be used in GM vehicles. But don't quote me on that.

Old 02-01-2008, 03:29 PM

if you have an 05 or older GM which does not use the Dexron VI transmission fluid they make some for it but they make nothing for the new Dexron VI fluid. this is what the RP rep sent me: