Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Squeak in Tire

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2009, 03:45 PM
Default Squeak in Tire

Hey all,

New member to the forum! I have an 05 Silverado 2500HD 6.6L Duramax. I have recently started to notice that the front driver side wheel has started to make a God awful squeak, but only when I turn to the right, and usually only when I slightly turn the wheel. I am not a very mechanically inclined individual, hence the reason I am here. So any ideas on what could be causing this?

Also, while I am here I have a question about the tire size for my truck. I have put on 285/75/16 on the truck and they have been working fine for me. There is no lift on my truck, but I am wanting just a little bigger of a tire. Can I go bigger without doing a lift? It seems that the tires I have now are so close to rubbing on the front of the wheel well in the front, the rear has plenty of clearance.

Sorry for posting two questions at once, but I am really curious about both of them. Thanks for any replies.

Drake

Old 08-05-2009, 04:44 PM
General Truck/Classifieds Forum Moderator

sounds like it maybe time for a set of brakes. this is not real uncommon if they get worn to the point of almost "hitting" the squeker and the rotor starts to warp a little. a bad brake caliper will do this also.

Old 08-05-2009, 06:11 PM

Jack up that wheel and give it a shake. Seen/heard wheel bearings make god awful sounds.

Old 08-06-2009, 07:22 AM

I am pretty confident that it is not the brake in that tire. It makes no noise when i press on the brake. I am thinking what acnas said, that it is probably in the wheel bearings. I assume this is something that I should just take it in and get looked at.

Old 08-06-2009, 07:32 AM
Chevrolet/GMC, Racing, Recreational Forum Moderator