Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

Wheel hop/ Skip is 4 wheel drive

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2008, 07:30 AM
Default Wheel hop/ Skip is 4 wheel drive

Well I'm new to this truck forum things.... So do bare with me. But I just bought a 08 Chevy Silverado Z71 with the 5.3L. I do work at Stylin' Trucks formaly known as Stylin' Concepts. But when I put my truck in 4 Wheel-Drive, and turn the wheel somewhat sharp, my truck basically skips/hops or whatnot and will full out stop me and I pretty much have to floor it to move at all. Granite this is my first 4WD truck, but I have had an AWD drive car ( I know it is completely different) and I have driven other 4WD drive trucks before and never seen this problem. I know it will happen in 4WD, but this bad? Does anyone know if this is normal or not???

Old 02-28-2008, 08:04 AM
Default RE: Wheel hop/ Skip is 4 wheel drive

Yes it is normal. Im gonna try my best to exaplin why....here goes....

First of all when you make a turn, especially a tight turn, all four wheels must travel at different speeds to make the turn.

Now, 4x4 and 4wd are completely different creatures. Your car was 4wd and despite the fact that all four wheels would drive the car, there was some way (either electronic control, center differential, ect..) that the drivetrain was prevented from binding when making a turn. The car could make a turn and allow all four wheels to spin at different speeds.