New Member Area Are you new? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Newbie general questions

Old 05-13-2008, 05:46 PM
Les
Default Newbie general questions

Total Newbie here... first post (well, actually second; the first is in the Truck Tech section).

I'm going to buy a truck. I don't exactly what kind yet; I'd like to ask for input/suggestions/recommendations/etc.

Just a couplerequirements...

1. Full size, V8. I do a lot of projects around the house, in the yard, car restoration, etc. I want a truck that, if I decide to buy a '69 Camaro, I can load it onto a flat bed trailer and tow it with the truck. AndI don't have to worry if the truck has enought "guts" to handle it.
2. Extended cab (not the full 4-door, but with the smaller opening door... at least one side).

Like to have, but not requirements...
3. 4 Wheel Drive
4. Full-size bed (can fit a 4x8 plywood sheet in the bed with the tailgate closed).

I'm not predisposed to Chevy, Ford, or Dodge. I'm thinking it will be somewhere around a 98 - 05 model year; I'd like to spend not more than $15,000.

So... the questions...

For each line (Chevy/Ford/Dodge), what's the first model year that's "ok"? In the range of model years that I mentioned, what's the best year? Anything special that I need to look for or ask about? Any particular body issues (like, are there certain years that are prone to rust)? I mentioned that I'd like to have 4WD, but is that a good idea (I live in Kansas where snow can be an issue occasionally)?

GM guys: Is there any mechanical difference between Chevy and GMC? Are there any significant cosmetic differences? I know GM had some trouble with the 700R4 transmission in the 80s and into the 90s... did this ever get straightened out? What year is the first that's ok? What year is the best?

Dodge guys:Is a Hemi worth it?

Ford guys: Is the 5.4L engine worth it?