Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

03 Silverado 6.0 sluggish at full throttle???

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2009, 03:56 PM
Default 03 Silverado 6.0 sluggish at full throttle???

Hello, newbie here.

I was just curious if anyone might have an idea of what my problem might be.

The truck runs fine up to half throttle but if I floor it , it almost seems like the timing is off. I filled up with 91 oct and put some injector cleaner in the tank.

I will scan it with my obd2 tonight and see if I get any error codes, the engine light is not on at the moment and never was during this problem.

My guesses are:

Dirty fuel filter.

Dirty injectors.

Possibly the spark plugs which are stock but 5 years old.

Thanks in advance

Mike

Old 04-03-2009, 04:10 PM
General Truck/Classifieds Forum Moderator

all the above and maybe the wires??????? I would give it a "full" tune up plugs, wires, fuel filter and a good injector cleaning

Old 04-03-2009, 10:30 PM

Thanks Chris.

I ran a scan and got a "Lean Bank 2" which most likely means low fuel pressure to one side, so Ill try the fuel filter first. If I had the $$ I would do all the above but that will have to wait a bit. Dang Economy!

Mike

Old 04-04-2009, 08:15 PM

Changed the fuel filter and she runs healthy now. I blew on the old one with my mouth and I could barely get air thru it.

Old 04-05-2009, 12:51 AM

Just out of curiousity how many miles were on that filter? Congrats by the way on fixing the problem, it was good info for me as well for future experiences. I have a problem with my truck running rich at full throttle and hope to lean out a little of that with a ram air kit from Vararam before doing a custom tune that costs more than I want to spend. The economy has hit me as well so I hear ya!

Old 04-05-2009, 11:05 AM

72,000 on that filter. Its the original one from when I bought the truck. I hear these should be changed at least every 20,000 miles.