Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

one problem 50 opinions HELP

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2008, 06:58 PM
Default one problem 50 opinions HELP

Ok, well I got an 02 silveradoz w/ the 5.3. My engine light is on and I am getting a MAP senor reading (manifold air pressure) and a random/multiple cylider malfunction/misfire. I have changed plugs and wires, fuel filter, checked for vacuum leaks. I have a loud clack when I try to accelerate any fater than a grandma in a lincoln, sometimes when it is cold I get a whistle. SOunds like a belt, but higher pitch and made by air pressure I know what belts sound like. The engine lacks power. And I am scared it could be my cats. I have tru dual exuast and one sides seems quieter than the other and a lot hotter. I am no mechanic, I am a carpenter.[/align] I guess since I am pretty sure it is the cats, if I beat them out or what have you, will the check engine light come on, and if it does will it hur my gas mileage or engine. What possible hazards, (to me and my truck) does it pose, And i know these things ar God awful expensive, so does getting the really really cheap ones hurt you that bad? Or should I spend 900+ dollars and get 2 Standard Equipment ones?[/align]help me, i am losing my mind over this[/align][/align]

Old 06-01-2008, 09:34 PM
Default RE: one problem 50 opinions HELP

Do you need them were you live? It will throw a code but if you get a tune you can delete the rear O2 sensers. If you dont have to have cats then just cut them out and put in a pipe. Here is a link were there is a guy buying them or you can scrap them and get some money for them. Here is that link CLICK!

Old 06-02-2008, 05:43 AM