Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Project help please??

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2010, 12:10 AM
Default Project help please??

I have a 88 chevy 2500, and a GMC 3500, not sure of the exact year, i would say early 90's. the chevy is gasoline, has a 350, 3 speed auto on the column with overdrive, the GMC is diesel, has a 350, 3 speed auto on the column with overdrive.

my question is, is it possible to put the diesel motor into the chevy truck? if so what complications, if any, does one being diesel and the other being petrol bring up? This is my first project, and i was thinking of taking it on, because it doesn't seem to me like it would be to much of a hassle? am i wrong?

Last edited by wrtcs; 05-20-2010 at 12:12 AM.
Old 05-20-2010, 06:35 AM
Chevrolet/GMC, Racing, Recreational Forum Moderator

Since you have the complete donor truck it should be just a matter of swapping everything between the two. Are they both the same body style? I can't remember if the 88 2500 kept the earlier body style.

Old 05-20-2010, 08:58 PM

The 3500 is more rounded on the front, and four door, and the 88 2500 is 2 door and more square on the front. When you say its just a matter of switching everything over, what are you meaing?

Can i get away with just switching the motor, or do i have to switch the motor, trans and rear end?

Old 05-20-2010, 09:17 PM

If they were the same body style then it would have been a much easier ordeal. I would say don't attempt it...you will probably run into a lot of wiring, sensor, ECM, etc. issues. The rear end should not have to be swapped, and the transmissions might be the same (are they both overdrive or 3 speeds?). Personally I would sell them both and buy the truck you are looking to build.

Old 05-20-2010, 09:48 PM

yeah transmissions are the same, 4 speed, 1,2,3 and overdrive. sorry didnt make it clear.