Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

What should I look for in a '04-07 1500?

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2011, 07:32 PM
Default What should I look for in a '04-07 1500?

Hi,

I'm Don, a newbie here & would like to say "Hi!" to all. I'm currently searching for a new pick-up as my '01 Mazda B3000, though a great truck, it's time to trade her in for possibly a 4X4 '04-'07 Silverado/Sierra 1500. I've done the whole internet search on reliability & have found less issues on the Ford F150's & would honestly be happy with either but am leaning toward the GM's. I dive mainly highway with some mild off road here in the northeastern US. So what should I look for in a used '04-07 1500 4X4? Any issues in certain yrs that I should avoid? I have about 4 candidates that I'll be test driving this weekend so any input from you folks would help greatly. Thanks for the read!

Don ~

Old 07-26-2011, 08:04 PM

Hey Don, welcome to the forums. I think you'll be happier with at least a 5.3 or better in regards to engine. The trucks themselves are all very good and comparable. I guess the best advice I could give is simple common sense. Find the best bang for the buck, lowest miles and a good paper trail of service records is a plus. Both Gm and Ford make great trucks and have their own little quirks and stupid problems. Fortunately, you joined a great group of individuals with a wealth of knowledge. Congrats on the new purchase,,,,,,,,, pics and more pics.

Rob

Old 07-26-2011, 08:15 PM

Originally Posted by MrDragon