Dodge/ Ram 1500 Forum Discuss the Dodge Ram and Ram 1500 here.

Intermittent HEAVY vibration 2500 6spd cummins

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2006, 03:06 AM
Default Intermittent HEAVY vibration 2500 6spd cummins

Greetings to all... Please help me with a problem (s??). I know there is someone smart enough in this forum to help me diagnose my Ram 2500 6spd 4x4 diesel.

Ok, about 10 day ago i noticed a chatter or faint vibration in 2 and 3 gears. The vibration/chatter lasted about a second at the middle to top end of the gear before shifting to the next gear. I chalked it up to clutch chatter as i have about 45k on this clutch. Nothing significant until today.

Out with the family, my wife stated she could hear what i was referring to as chatter. I am a machinist and have fried a lot of my hearing. (I know there is a hearing/listening/wife joke in there somewhere). So, we are in a pretty vacant parking lot and i roll around with little or no throttle in 2 gear. I can barely hear some noise from the rear. Still no clue about the noise or the vibration. So i shift in and out of 4HI. When i shift into 4HI from 2HI everything is fine, the vibration is still there though. When i shift out of 4HI back to 2HI there is a loud pop noise. I had my wife shift in and out of 4HI while i listened from just under the driver door, under the truck. It is a pretty loud pop. Never heard that before and i use 4HI in the snow a lot. So we go shopping. Truck is left back in 2HI. Come out 1 hour later and go to pull out of the parking lot and the truck is vibrating like mad as i roll on 2 gear. Come out of 2 gear into 3 gear and the vibration gets crazy. The whole truck is like a huge vibrator. (another wife joke in there... i know).