General Motors Tech Chevy tech talk within.

need crash course in GM trucks

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2009, 08:50 PM
Default need crash course in GM trucks

Hey guys: I am a newbie to this forum. I have been a Ford man for the last 13 years, when I traded my 95 Z71 for a 97 F150. My news for all is I am coming back, as my GM family is glad to see my return, but I need your help. I am looking for a truck, and I need a crash course in what to be careful of. My 04 F150 has spark plug issues, injector issues and now, a burnt up engine. For these reasons I am returning to GM and need your help in steering away from known problems or issues in the GM truck family. Any help will be appreciated: Thanks in advance.

Old 01-09-2009, 11:39 AM
Default RE: need crash course in GM trucks

Hey man sorry to hear about your 13 year run with a Ford. Sounds like my first marriage. I had some spark issue with her too.

I had a 95 Chevy 3/4 ton with a 350 engine, standard transmission, short bed, extended cab,& athrottle body. I really liked this truck but hated the standard transmission. It would pull pretty much anything you wanted to pull. I had this truck for 4 years & drove it about 50,000 miles in that time & I only hada fewproblems out of it. The coil went out on me after I had it for 2 years & the water pump went out soon after that. I had to replace the alternator afterhaving it for 3 years. The only other problemthat I had was gas mileage but it was good for a 3/4 ton somewherebetween 12 & 15 mpg. It had 125,000 miles on it when I bought it & I sold it around 175,000 miles. I felt it had another 50,000 on it.