Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.

Any idea what to look for

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2007, 11:09 PM
Default Any idea what to look for

I want to look at my truck and see if any major mods were done to it by the previous owner but im really not sure what i would be looking for. I was a diesel mechanic in the army for 8 yrs and im not stupid just dont have much experince with modifications on these kind of engines. If anyone has any good ideas on what i should be looking for I would really appreciate the input.

O-yeah its an 01 Z71 5.3 it does have a K&N air filter i can see that much

Old 09-04-2007, 11:12 PM
TruckForum Addict
Default RE: Any idea what to look for

Most mods would be relatively obvious. The only stuff you couldn't see immediately are a throttle body spacer cause it's hidden by the engine cover and a cut open air box. You could see either with a flash light. That's about all I can think of.

Old 09-04-2007, 11:28 PM

Hey man thanks for the input. Ive had this truck since February and for what i paid for it i cant complain. I really havent even tried looking for anything yet, I only started getting intrested in it this week at work when the guys were buying stuff for theirs and talking about that they had or what they were going to do. One of the guys i work with just bought a 26 or 27 Ford T-bucket i know its a ford and not everyone is perfet and buys a chevy but ill tell you what that is an aewsome vehicle and its got a wheelie bar on it for a reason. LOL. Anyways ill take a close look under the hood and see what it has if anything and let yall know and if it doesnt have anything maybe i can get some suggestions on what i can do that wont cost this poor boy and arm and two legs.

Old 09-04-2007, 11:56 PM
TruckForum Addict