Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum Discuss the Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newb Needing Help

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2007, 09:59 AM
Default Newb Needing Help

I am helping out my bro-in-law who has no or very slow 'net access.

I am a total newb to Chevies, I've only ever worked onVW's so bear with me.

My BIL has a 1994 K(?)1500 Shortbed(?) no overdrive, which he believes the trans is shot (30 to 40K miles on the odometer). I do not know how he came to this conclusion. He and a friend dropped the trans; they thought they had a suitable replacement, turns out not. Now they are stuck, no local replacements (No. Central PA).

I've read enough to know that the trans may not be shot; and read these models could come with an electronic trans (whatever that is) and that the electronics can cause issues that might be misinterpreted as mechanical. So here are some basic questions I have; I'd like to hear some questions from the kind users here thatcould us get to the bottom of this problem:

- Can this trans be rebuilt by a hobbyist with the right tools?
- What specialty tools (GM specific) might be required for a rebuild? Can these be rented? purchased aftermarket?
- Do I have the make/model info right? Am I even in the right forum?
- What other years/makes/models might have a trans that would fit? Or where would I get that kind of info?
- Can rebuild parts be bought online? over the counter? Or is it best to just wholesale replace the trans? Do they make a rebuild 'kit' (seals, etc.- that are commonly replaced)
- What questions would the parts man ask me?
- What diagnostic work might we do that would tell if the problem is electrical vs. mechanical?
- What would a reasonable price be for a used trans? a rebuilt one? What are some good online sources for either a whole trans, or the necessary parts?

Thanks all,
Larry

Old 12-26-2007, 10:19 AM
Default RE: Newb Needing Help