Dodge/ Ram 1500 Forum Discuss the Dodge Ram and Ram 1500 here.

Looking to buy

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2010, 07:17 PM
Question Looking to buy

Hello all... I am a newbie to Dodge truck, looking to buy my first. I have had Chevrolet trucks for years and have become bored with their design. I have always like the looks of the Dodge trucks, but have stayed away because I have heard nothing but bad things about transmissions.

I am looking at either 2500 or 3500 diesel, year range 2003 - 2006

So here are my questions.
For all you guys with the diesels, what kind of transmission troubles have you had?
espically anyone who has the aftermarket power programer, or aftermarket intakes and intercoolers.

what things do I need to look for when I am out looking for my new truck? common failures?

What power programer has the best reputation for Dodge diesels?

Thank you for your help,
-Jeff

Old 02-22-2010, 03:58 PM
Wink

Originally Posted by mechanixman
Hello all... I am a newbie to Dodge truck, looking to buy my first. I have had Chevrolet trucks for years and have become bored with their design. I have always like the looks of the Dodge trucks, but have stayed away because I have heard nothing but bad things about transmissions.

I am looking at either 2500 or 3500 diesel, year range 2003 - 2006

So here are my questions.
For all you guys with the diesels, what kind of transmission troubles have you had?
espically anyone who has the aftermarket power programer, or aftermarket intakes and intercoolers.

what things do I need to look for when I am out looking for my new truck? common failures?

What power programer has the best reputation for Dodge diesels?

Thank you for your help,
-Jeff