General Motors Tech Chevy tech talk within.

"flooding" 1990 5.7 ??

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2007, 06:27 AM
Default "flooding" 1990 5.7 ??

Hi there! I have fallen into the spiral of buying parts based on opinion after opinion of everyone I know. Don't laugh, I am new at this do it yourself bit, so laugh quietly please. Hope someone can help, here we go. Have a 1990 chevy 1/2 ton 2 wheel drive 5.7 L TBI. It sat for about a month without being driven, I took it 6 miles up the road, shut it off and went in the store. It started right up when I got back in it, but 2 blocks up the street, it began to idle up a little and then when I stopped at the red light, it missed, sputtered and quit. I got it going with a little cranking and holding the gas pedal to the floor. I made it home, but it missed all the way and the idle stayed up just a little. It would start when cold and run for about 10 minutes, then a huge sucking sound could be heard in the engine and it will begin to sputter and then die, and will not restart til it's cooled off. Since the initial problem where I drove it to town, the parts I have put on it, (new parts from NAPA) include;
TBI gasket
spark plugs
pick up coil
fuel filter
fuel pressure diaphragm kit
throttle position sensor
oxygen sensor
***took coil and ignition module off to be tested, tested good/no problems***
When it starts, runs for 10 minutes and starts sucking/sputtering/getting ready to quit, you can see fuel POURING into the throttle body below both injectors, and the black smoke pours from the exhaust. Any ideas/suggestions would be appreciated. The guy at NAPA told me yesterday it sounded like the bottom o rings were bad on the fuel injectors. Can they alone be replaced or do you have to replace the entire injector? Also, can the fuel filter on the end of the injectors be replaced by themselves, or a whole new injector? I have an LMC truck catalog but did not see the injector filters or o rings in it for sale seperately? HELP!!!