Report Concerns, Make Suggestions, & Get Help Using The Forum A.K.A. Feedback Section Have questions, comments, or concerns about the website, post them here! NO TECH POSTS

1985 c3500

  #1  
Old 12-23-2010, 07:05 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Default 1985 c3500

I have a 1985 c3500 w/350 motor. Alternator output has been low lately and battery was only charged to about 300 amps. The voltmeter would read 13 volts
unless wipers and headlights were on at idle then it would drop to about 10v. I decided to replace alt. and the 1st one immediately read 8v. at idle under load. I was given replacement and same volt reading approx. But it checked out with load tester. Left and drove around town on errands. Headed home on highway and noticed voltmeter was completely off. Returned to parts house. Checked wiring diagram and could find no fuse for gauge. Checked wire to gauge with 12v test light and I had voltage. The parts house checked alt. and it was fine with about 14v output. Is it possible that when I hit high rpm on freeway that the alt. sent to much voltage to gauge?
 
  #2  
Old 12-31-2010, 02:43 AM
auto123's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 24
Default

Originally Posted by ramman05 View Post
I have a 1985 c3500 w/350 motor. Alternator output has been low lately and battery was only charged to about 300 amps. The voltmeter would read 13 volts
unless wipers and headlights were on at idle then it would drop to about 10v. I decided to replace alt. and the 1st one immediately read 8v. at idle under load. I was given replacement and same volt reading approx. But it checked out with load tester. Left and drove around town on errands. Headed home on highway and noticed voltmeter was completely off. Returned to parts house. Checked wiring diagram and could find no fuse for gauge. Checked wire to gauge with 12v test light and I had voltage. The parts house checked alt. and it was fine with about 14v output. Is it possible that when I hit high rpm on freeway that the alt. sent to much voltage to gauge?
It is possible as there is temperature gauge present in the vehicle.. when you increase the RPM, the voltage can be increased and transferred to the gauge...
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Phaedrus
Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum
3
12-29-2009 11:53 AM
nbaptist
Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum
4
08-12-2009 06:45 PM
jk123
Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum
8
04-07-2009 07:36 PM
nbaptist
Chevy Silverado/ GMC Sierra Forum
2
03-07-2009 09:19 AM
gbarnhart
Vehicles for Sale
0
12-03-2007 07:12 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 1985 c3500


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.