New Member Area Are you new? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Advice on which truck to buy

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2018, 01:51 PM
Beginner
Default Advice on which truck to buy

Okay, so I'm new to the truck world (or will be) and need advice on which truck to get into. I'm sure there are many posts on this, but humor me. I'm looking for reliability. I'm looking for tow capability, but not an every day thing. Mostly just for a boat every once in a while. I know I want 4x4, but it's not a deal breaker. Comfort is important, but pretty just hitting the first two would be great.

So, here are the stipulations. I don't want BRAND NEW, but I'm not looking at super old, unless the mileage is on the low end. So far, I've been looking into 2013/14 F150 with the 5.0, the silverado/sierras of around the same generation, but 2007 and up on those. I know they have a clunkier version of the AFM feature, but I've heard there are ways around that. At the end of the day, I want a truck I'll be happy with for a long time, but not break the bank. Pretty much shooting for around 22k for a newer (maybe not so high mileage) truck, or an older truck for cheaper price with lower mileage, but still reliable and looks good. I've owned a 98 1500 and loved it, but it was old a busted. Not in nice condition, but I do know the 5.3s are hard to beat.

Any thoughts? Any preferences? I know ford has the smaller motors with turbo which could be cheaper for newer, but I don't want something that wont last. Also, I do realize it's all about how you maintain the vehicle and of course there will always be a clunker or two.

Old 07-05-2018, 08:15 AM
Beginner